Hiking Mono Cliffs Provincial Park

My husband and I have been hiking, and exploring by foot, or by bike, since we met 15 years ago. Of course, I never really understood what hiking really was until I met my husband, me being from everywhere and nowhere, the great outdoors was not something I typically embraced like a good Canadian. I changed my tune the first time I strapped on a pair of snowshoes and headed into the woods with my then boyfriend, now husband.

Being surrounded my nature, embracing the quiet, admiring the trees, the birds, the bugs and the wildlife around you, can not only reduce stress, but also reduce disease. If you don’t believe me, you can look it up. We typically try to hike once or twice a week, and make it our family bonding time. We make up stories, laugh, eat treats we don’t normally eat, and attempt to learn something new about nature.

The latest hike was off to Orangville Ontario to enjoy the Mono Cliffs Provincial Park. We parked in the grounds, and had to pay $15, a little steep, but we always figure it is going to a good cause, the park is exceptionally well maintained! There are lots of great trails and loops, some are shared with mountain bikes, all are dog friendly, and the views, well, the views are absolutely spectacular. It was moderate to easy loop, only one part was tricky getting down the cliff. Our 7-year-old expertly got down, and so did our little dog, who did not need to be carried.

Bring a picnic, and lots of water! Enjoy your next hike.

Leave a Reply

