Gentleman Caller

I was sitting with my door shut, working through a memo, my concentration broke when a knock came and there stood Lucy, her match silk pants and top combo, with her amazing blue and purple eyeshadow that had been carefully picked out to coordinate with her silk outfit.

She smiled, showing her perfect white teeth, and her contagious laugh came out of her mouth before she could even begin to speak. I had no idea what she was about to say or do, she always took me by surprise. She closed the door behind her, and sat down.

I swiveled my chair around to face her, I knew I couldn’t tell her I was in the middle of something, and I couldn’t talk to her, but she demanded attention to those she wanted it from.

She began with a little giggle “so it seems you have a little admirer..”

I looked at her and laughed “where are you going with this Lucy.”

She batted her eyes and looked at me like a wild Aunty Mame would “Darling, there is a gentleman caller who works in legal who is so smitten with you, you just need to hop in the sack with him.”

I had nothing to choke on, but somehow I was choking, and was blindsided by the comment. First, who calls them gentleman callers anymore, except for this 65 year old woman (who is now well inter her 70’s), I couldn’t even talk, it was just one of those crazy moments that came out of no where.

She kept going “well, I saw the way he was looking at you at the meeting, he is beyond smitten, and if you even glimpsed at him to let him know you were interested, things would happen.”

I looked at her, realizing this was not a conversation I really wanted to have “You do realize I am engaged and very much in love, don’t you?”

She looked at me in all seriousness and matter of factly said “well, that is just nonsense, you should be out there enjoying yourself with as many men as you want, don’t tie yourself down to one man, before you know it, you will be married, with children.”

She kept on laughing, as she slowly got up from the chair. I laughed back and said “well, I will take that into consideration.”

She opened the door, and was gone in an instant. As usual, I shook my head, and got back to work.

To her dismay, I got married and had children, and lived happily without the torrid affairs she wished for me.

Have a great day,

Dip Kid

Leave a Reply

