A Diplomatic Reading List

I love books, I grew up reading at a pretty veracious speed, and used books to learn, escape, and learn another language. Here are a few books you should rediscover/reread, or pickup next time you are looking for a good read.

This may have been on your highschool reading list, and you may have skipped the book and only read the cliffnotes. Go pick up a copy, go ahead and read it, you won’t regret the eye-opening book as we enter a very Orwellian time. I read this in Venezuela during Chavez’s first coup attempt…and we know how that turned out in the end.

“2+2=5” – 1984, George Orwell

1984

If you are along the track of reading 1984, you should then read Brave New World, Aldous Huxley. This is not usually on a High School reading list, but was given to me by a teacher who thought I would enjoy it. My Father ended up rereading it, and we had a long debate about 1984 and Brave New World. Go ahead, read it.

brave-new-world

Escapism with a whole lot of positivity… Clive Cussler is one author I break out on the beach or the cottage. Introduced long ago by my Father, who was a huge Clive Cussler fan and would often spend business trips on a plane reading a Clive Cussler book to calm his brain. Yes, books can be calming, even ones with action. Clive Cussler is a very positive writer, when you read his books, you will discover he uses positive language, and humour.  If you want escapism and an easy read, check out one of his books.
clive-cussler

I was reintroduced to The Art of War when I first began to work at Foreign Affairs. Yeah, I know it seems counterintuitive, but it was actually an enlightening read for a new officer. The first time I read it was for a University course I took in negotiations and mediation. It is something I now keep on my shelf, and reread every once in a while.

art-of-war

Just because this book was made into a movie, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t read it. The Lord of the Rings was written during WW2, and probably one of the most complex and brilliant pieces of literature. Everyone, and I mean everyone should read it at some point in their lives. I read this book once a year, it never gets old.

lord-of-the-rings

What books would you suggest?

Dip Kid

Leave a Reply

