Pan de Jamon

This year, I finally decided to try my hands at making Pan de Jamon from scratch for the Christmas holidays. Pan de Jamon is a Venezuelan sweet bread made for Christmas, with ham, olives and raisins. I was so addicted to this bread, we had a cook who made it often for me, and I would pack it for my lunch at school or have it for breakfast, I LOVED it.

So this year, I tried making it myself. It took a little time, but it was overall, a very easy recipe.

  • /2 cup warm water
  • 1 tablespoon rapid rise yeast
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 stick butter, softened, plus 2 tablespoons of melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 pound smoked ham, very thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup sliced olives
  • 1 egg yolk

img_6920

Dip Kid

Leave a Reply

