I Stand With Her

“A gender-equal society would be one where the word ‘gender’ does not exist: where everyone can be themselves.” Gloria Steinem

Yesterday, the women’s march around the world, brought together the largest and most powerful sign of peaceful solidarity. My grandmother, who fought for my right to vote, was standing in solidarity with her sisters watching the peaceful and beautiful march from above. I know that all the women who fought so hard for our right to work, to vote, to have our own bank accounts, to have ownership of our own bodies, would be so proud of the movement, and were with everyone in spirit.

I watched my friends feeds come alive, while they shared videos of their March in Washington DC, Ottawa, Toronto, London and Germany. I have not been able to stop from holding back tears, to watch this movement of solidarity is unite our voices. I wished I could have participated in person, but I hurt my knee while travelling and have not been able to walk on it. I was with everyone though. A few photos from the Atlantic article 

Washington DC

Washington DC

Federal Police putting away their riot gear. Just to note, that is a huge sign of solidarity. A friend of mine witnessed this, and ended up hugging a few police officers because of it.

Washington DC

London

london

New York

New York

Lets always rise above the hatred.

Dip Kid

Leave a Reply

