Standing Rock

Like most people who don’t keep up with every single bit of news in the U.S (I know, it is shocking considering how many newspapers I read daily.) this, this is just unacceptable.

I have had a hard time wrapping my head around a group of people, who are peacefully protesting and protecting their land (which I am pretty sure is their legal right, I mean, individuals are allowed to bear arms for a lot less across the border) for a basic human right CLEAN WATER. They are being met with militarized forces, using violence. I am not understanding how this can be legal. Am I missing something?

According to the Chemical Weapons Convention the definition of tear gas is:

7. “Riot Control Agent” means:

Any chemical not listed in a Schedule, which can produce rapidly in humans sensory irritation or disabling physical effects which disappear within a short time following termination of exposure.

Why is this important to know? Riot agents are not prohibited under international law, so technically the police are not technically in contravention to anything. What I find hard to understand, is why are the police so heavily militarized, and why are they baiting a bunch of peaceful protestors? This whole scenario makes no sense in my view. All I know, is everyone in the world has the basic human right to clean water, when a government is jeopardizing a land, a people, and the environment for economic gain, I have a massive problem. I wonder, if the pipeline were to go through a wealthy farming area, where the majority of owners where white, would the same scenario play out.

I am with Standing Rock, clean water, protecting sacred land, and a way of life is important for our future. This video needs to be shared over and over again.

Leave a Reply

