Happiness

happy

I have been slowly researching and writing out parts of my book, but one thing that I wanted to stress, is finding happiness.

Happiness

For so many, happiness is just a fleeting moment, a moment of laughter, an afternoon of contentment, it is not a constant state of mind. How sad, because I was once that person, someone who complained, but did nothing about my own happiness. What was there to do?

In all honesty, if you are starting your own business, you should analyse how happy you are, and if happiness is part of your entrepreneurial journey. If you are just starting a business because you want to have more money, or you just want to get out of the job you currently have, and think life is easier starting your own business, you should rethink what you are about to do.

I always laugh when someone attempts to tell me that they would like to start a business because they think it is easier. It is not easier, if it was, so many more people would be starting one. What creating a business can do, is give you the opportunity to create your own happiness. It sounds a little odd, but think about it this way, if you are working for someone else, you have no control over decisions, time is not your own, and so, you start to get squeezed. A 2 career family means you have to outsource the most important job in your life, your kids, and you don’t get any choice in that. Owning your own business means you can create flexibility in your day for your kids.

When m husband and I agreed to jump the corporate world and create something for ourselves, we agreed, our son would come first. It would mean that could tag team, when all hands needed to be on deck, we could arrange it, when our son was sick, I stayed home. We worked it out. I am proud to say that the first 6 years of his life, he has never been in daycare, and only when he turned 6 did we hire a babysitter once a week. We rarely asked help from our parents, they jumped in maybe 3 times a year. I will get into this later on, but this was what made us happy. Maybe you have something else in mind, and that is o.k. there is no right answer to what makes you happy.

I left Foreign Affairs because in all honesty, it made me miserable. I am not my Father, my Father thrived in the life of a diplomat, but he also missed out on the majority of my childhood. I didn’t want that. I wanted something I could use my brains, but still be there for my son. I wanted to give him time, not things. So in creating a business with my husband, I ended up creating time. At times, we have no balance, balance is a buzzword that makes me laugh…

Cheers,

Dip Kid

Leave a Reply

