First Dance

Every single move, and every single school formed very specific memories in my head. My grade 5 and 6 years were horribly lonely. I made no friends, and was severely bullied. Bullied to the point that my brother, who was in grade 12, would come down to my classroom every brake, just to make sure I had someone to sit with while I ate (my hero). I begged my parents for me to move schools, but in their fog, they thought it would be better for me to stay in the same school as my brother.

My brother, had a great social life, he had loads of friends. I in contrast, was sometimes beaten, my hair was pulled, I was left nasty notes everyday. I couldn’t understand my parents rationale, but then again, I never really told them how bad things were, I just hid, a lot.

My grade 7 year, I moved to a new school. My life drastically changed. I had lots of friends, I joined a sports team, I was happy at school. My brother had left for University, which made home very lonely, but I also didn’t need him to sit with me at lunch time any more.

It was fall, and we were all in gym talking about the big dance. The girls were all huddled together talking about what they were going to wear. Who’s house we were planning to get ready at. I had no idea what to expect. The closest thing to a dance I had been to was watching 16 candles, and I was pretty sure dances weren’t like that, but I could have been wrong, what did I know. I was excited, but shy to ask what a dance was like.

The day of the dance, Friday, the school day seemed to go on forever. I just wanted the day to end so I could get home. At that age, a day was eternity. By the time the last bell rang, 2 friends joined me at the waiting line for our driver to pull up. They were coming back to my house to get ready and stay the night.

Between the giggles, the makeup, and the crimper. We were having a blast getting ready. I was so happy, I didn’t even need a dance to go to.

The moment we entered the gym for the dance, the music was blaring, we met all of our friends, we danced, and were having a blast. When a slow dance came on, I was stunned, I had no idea that slow dances were a thing. I had no idea what to do, so I turned around and began to walk out of the gym. I felt a tap on my shoulder, as I turned around, I realized it was one of my classmates, Jay. He asked me to dance with him. As I looked around the gym, I realized, everyone was paired up, slow dancing. I nodded in agreement, not sure what exactly I was supposed to do. I grabbed my hand, and put his hand around my waist. I had my first awkward dance. Although Jay and I laugh about that dance, as he doesn’t remember it, probably because he danced with every girl, I remember it so vividly in all it’s weird adolescent oddness. That moment, I felt special. Having been bullied for so long, it was so nice to finally be excepted.

Leave a Reply

