The Truth

I have always been a little sceptical when I have been given prescriptions for various things. I feel like we have become a society of pill poppers. In some instances, I feel blessed to have access to medication, and yes, I would never deny my child medication of he needs it. That isn’t what I am talking about.

It was a brutal wakeup call, when I realized I was drinking 4 cups of coffee a day. I thought of myself as healthy, I exercised, ate fruits and veggies. My ups and downs were severe, and I didn’t feel like I was a good Mum. Out of frustration, I decided to watch a documentary Hungry For Change on Netflix. The documentary was so compelling, that I began to read book after book on food, and how food should be looked at as our medicine. The main argument that has stuck with me, we are a society that no longer eats food, we eat food like products.

I quickly went through my kitchen, it was true, the majority of my food was coming from a package. I had become like everyone else. I had thought I was healthy, I watched what I ate, but I wasn’t really appreciating the nourishment my body needed.

I put away the coffee maker, bought a juicer, and went through the worst week of my like. Coming off coffee was insane, I threw up, I cried, I shook, and vegged out. Then, I had the most amazing sleep EVER. After 7 days, I became a calmer mother, I had no ups and downs, no tears. I was in complete control. I went back to exercising, taking the dog for long walks. I was ontop of the world!

Although I still have periods of insomnia, I have had no other signs of PTSD. Which, I would like to remind you, I have been suffering from since the age of 10.

 

4 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. It’s great to meet someone else who does this! I haven’t cured my PTSD by stopping drinking coffee (or my bipolar disorder) but they are 100% more manageable now and I recommend quitting coffee and eating real food (as in, would someone from 1000 years ago actually recognize the stuff on my plate as food) as well as minimizing alcohol (that also helped me, but less than food and coffee) to everyone trying to get a handle on mental health (not that anyone listens to me). What’s your favourite thing to juice? I’m a smoothie girl myself, although I was pretty shocked last week, I went to the supermarket to buy a carton of fruit juice, and I found that the ones that aren’t full of added sugar are full of artificial sweeteners, so I’m considering buying a juicer now!!

    Like

    • You do this too! That is so great! Obviously, some mental health issues have to be managed with medication. But for me, signs of PTSD would come and go. I have watched many Diplomats suffer highs and lows over the years. I would be fine, then it would be triggered by something odd, and I would be struggling again. I drink absolutely no caffeine, and I limit sugar. I will never put artificial sweetener in my body, EVER. I get headaches, and joint pains from it. I love having a juicer, I have 2 juices I love having all the time – Pineapple, apple, celery, cucumber, spinach, and lemon – it is my go to breakfast. My favourite snack with my son is juicing oranges, carrots and celery.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, I’ll have to try those – I do love orange and carrot as a bit of a smoothie (it comes out more of a juice) so adding celery would be a great twist. I also love strawberry and lime! I take medication for my bipolar disorder and PTSD when I need it but when I don’t, I don’t (the same medication works for them both), and I’m on a minimal dose because I avoid dietary triggers (wish work/life triggers were so simple) and try to keep sleep patterns regular. I agree with you about sweeteners – I’m sure they’re not good for anyone.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

