Bye Bye Coffee

coffee via

After years of struggling with PTSD, sleepless nights, and crazy ups and downs. I had to do something drastic in my life. I took up juicing, and quit coffee.

Most people look at me like I am insane, why would anyone give up a lovely cup of java, I mean, it wakes you up. But does it? My coffee addiction became so bad, that 3 years ago, I would get up and not want to talk to anyone, including my son, until I had 2 cups of espresso. I was experiencing fatigue after working out, in the afternoon, at night, and yet, I still couldn’t sleep.

It was on a strange Christmas morning, when my husband I sat drinking our espresso’s in silence, watching our son pull apart wrapping paper, that we thought we needed to do something, we just didn’t know what. That afternoon, while our son took a nap, we watched a documentary on juicing. A light went off.

We then began to read Jason Vale’s books, if you don’t know anything about his books, check it out, they are funny, informative, and they have great recipes in them.

On the 27th, we bought our first juicer, and decided to quit coffee, and all caffeine in general.

I won’t lie, coming off coffee was just about the worst experience I have ever gone through. The headaches, the vomiting, the crankiness, it was not a good sight. Lo and behold, on the 6th day, we woke up refreshed, happy, and for the first time in years, I had my first full nights sleep.

Really analysing what I was putting into my body, and being in tune to what I needed, I discovered how happy my brain was without all the caffeine. I was shocked.

It has been 3 years, and I juice 2x a day, and I haven’t touched caffeine in 3 years! Have you tried to quit coffee?

2 thoughts on “Bye Bye Coffee

  1. Congrats! I too have been off coffee for three years. I love coffee. I can’t even say it in the past tense. I always drank it black and I miss the taste. But, I had problems with anxiety, and made the decision to stop eating anything that could exacerbate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Congrats to you too! Considering how ill one feels coming off of it, I now can’t believe it has anything good in it for the body. I too love the taste…Sometimes, I stand outside of a coffee house just to enjoy the smell,lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

