Holland is calling

friday

Who doesn’t love Friday? This time last year, I was sitting in the best little cafe in the Hague, eating the most amazing Apple Pie for breakfast, because pie can be eaten for breakfast.

photo (49)

Somehow traveling around the Netherlands, drinking beer and every kind of apple tart, is my idea of a fabulous getaway. Some people find the Netherlands slightly boring as the food doesn’t seem to be up to par to the food snobs, but I love it.

Having spent the majority of my life in Asia and South America, it was not until my 20’s and for work that I got to see parts of Europe. The Netherlands in particular, was never on my radar, in fact, I never thought it looked interesting (which is really odd considering I love history). It was by accident that my husband and I picked a flight into Amsterdam, and frankly, never wanted to leave!

We love riding a bicycle to tiny towns, to see all of the flowers:

IMG_4277

To see various wooden sail boats:

IMG_4304

To see the most amazing sized cheese slabs in the market:

IMG_4303

To stop and have a beer in the middle of the town market:

IMG_4390

Or head to the grocery store to find the breakfast aisle looks like this:

IMG_4297

And Ikea in Holland has a candy store (yeah, I know, how come we don’t have one?)

IMG_4289

After visiting 4 times, I have it in the back of my head that one day, I will move there.

Dip Kid

 

 

Leave a Reply

