Pear Butter

I very quickly learned to cook and bake out of necessity. It was incredibly difficult to go from having a cook, to no cook, to having a cook again. So, when I was 11, my cook (adopted Grandmother) taught me how the fundamentals of baking.

With lots of crazy years of travel, becoming a Mother, than becoming obsessed with health. I have moved into trying Jaring…

My first attempt, Pear Butter. A friend handed me a massive bag of Pears, fabulous, beautiful and organic pears. I had no idea what to do with them, until I stumbled onto a recipe for Pear Butter.

I peeled, and cut them up.

Pears

I added 1 cup fresh lemon juice, 2 cups of water, 2 tsp of freshly grated ginger. Bring to a boil, and cook for 20 minutes.

Pear

Then blend (I used my Vitamix), add 1 tsp Vanilla, 1 tsp Cinnamon, and 1 tsp Nutmeg.

Then put back on the stove for another hour, keep on stirring until thick.

Then put it in the jars, and put back in boiling water for 10 minutes to seal the jars.

IMG_1856

Then let them sit out overnight!

IMG_1858

I am kinda excited to try it on a piece of toast!

 

Leave a Reply

