Who Let the Dogs In?

macaws

Nothing can really prepare you for the sights and sounds of a new country, and sometimes, the sounds are so unexpected.

3 days into our move to South America, I received the rude 5am awakening to a pack of dogs barking. I was totally confused, our family dog hadn’t arrived yet, and I had no idea who in the neighbourhood had dogs. The barking got louder, I wanted to yell out the window, but I am pretty sure the neighbours would have become pretty angry.

I looked at the clock and realized I had to quickly get ready for school. I had a bus picking me up at 6:15 (yes, it was that early). I quickly showered and put my uniform on, ran downstairs to get some food and off I went down the street. The barking never stopped.

A week had passed, on a Sunday, I was rudely awakened at 5am. I was slowly disliking dogs at that moment. It sounded like the dogs were right outside my window. I opened the shutters, to find 5 Macaws perched together on a palm tree, barking like dogs. So my pack of dogs, were really colourful, and noisy Macaws! These hilarious Macaws were mimicking the one dog next door, so it sounded like a pack of dogs. They visited me every morning for 3 years. I got used to it, but I never did sleep past 5am unless I shut the window’s and put noisy air-conditioning on!

 

Leave a Reply

