How To Travel with Your Little One

suitcases

I read a lot of articles about traveling with kids. I was a baby when I first made a trip across the ocean. My Mother reared, and traveled with all of us kids endlessly.

When I first learned I was pregnant, I was a little nervous about how much I would be able to travel with a baby, and how it would all unfold. My Mother, who has gone through her fair share of ups and downs over the years, gave me sage advice “Pick your destination by laws, if you plan on breastfeeding, know where you can travel where you have the legal right to breast feed your child out in public, and not shunned in a bathroom. Always know where you will sleep, and make sure as your babies grow, you choose the destination that is age appropriate.” And then she turned to me and said “don’t ever stop reaching for the next adventure, your kids make adventures exciting, new and so much more entertaining!”

As much as my Mother and I can sometimes have a complicated relationship, as most Diplomatic families do. I have always thought my Mother was just about the strongest adventurer I have ever known. Afterall, she gave birth in Africa in the 60’s, where she would have no hope to get blood or medical help if she needed it. She gave birth naturally, with a midwife, and breastfed. She once said that Africa opened her eyes to nature like nowhere else.

So, I give this to you, don’t worry about travelling with kids, just do it. There is absolutely no right or wrong answer, what works for one person, doesn’t work for another. Lastly, don’t apologize.

Happy Adventures!

3 thoughts on “How To Travel with Your Little One

  1. I love this, even though I don’t have kids. And everybody should be thankful for that because I’m nowhere near mature enough lol. I’ll admit it. But the way I see it, if my parents took me all around the world when I was younger, I would have had the best childhood ever. I would have learned a lot of lessons at an earlier age, and I would have become more open-minded earlier on too. Hope it’s a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t imagine growing up any other way, but that is because I don’t know any other way. We are 5 years into our adventure’s with our son, and have travelled to 7 different countries with him. My Mother is right, seeing the world through his eyes, is beyond anything I every imagined, it is way more fun, and he makes me notice things I would have walked passed if I were by myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

